Array

Valentine's Day

Overview of our gift ideas for Valentine's Day


I love you !
I love you !
Elegant Spathiphyllum
Elegant Spathiphyllum

"Calamondin" orange tree with Starry softness
Tenderness
Tenderness
Olive tree with three scented candles
Olive tree with three scented candles




The patron of lovers was a priest who suffered a martyr’s death at the hands of the Romans on 14 February 270. At that time, Valentine had incurred the wrath of Emperor Claudius II, who wanted to do away with marriage. The emperor was of the opinion that married men made abysmal soldiers as they did not want to abandon their families. Claudius, who feared nothing and no-one, abolished marriage. Valentine encouraged young, engaged couples to come to him to have their marriage blessed. He was arrested and imprisoned. While he was in prison and awaiting his execution, he fell in love with the daughter of his prison warder and gave her her eyesight back. Shortly before he was beheaded, he gave her leaves in the shape of a HEART, on which were written: FROM YOUR VALENTINE! (Is this why we say love is blind and you lose your head?)

Lupercalia festival
Even before the Valentine’s day tradition started, there was a pagan festival in mid-February: the Roman Lupercalia festival. On the occasion of this festival, adolescents had to undergo a rite of initiation. Each young man received the name of a young girl for a whole year. In the year 496, the pope forbade this festival, as it was misogynistic. He established Valentine as the patron of lovers and 14 February as his feast day.

Cupid
In Roman mythology, Cupid is the god of love. He is personified as a young, scantily clothed man with a bow and arrow. It is believed that, if one of his arrows touches you, then you will fall head over heels in love with the first person that you meet.

Colors (symbol)
The most important colour associated with Valentine’s Day has traditionally been red, but pink and white are equally important. Red symbolises devotion and faithfulness as well as passion – white is the colour of purity. – pink is a soft, gentle colour. Since 1920, it has also been considered a colour for girls.

Flowers (symbol)
The rose: Another strong symbol associated with Valentine’s Day is the rose. This flower represents love. More especially, if you give or receive a red rose, it signifies passion.

Heart (symbol)
The heart: the heart is the symbol of love. In a metaphorical sense, you give your heart to the one you love, which means that you trust him or her with your life. This possibly explains the excitement you feel when you feel loved and your heart ”is fit to burst”.

Chocolate
Nowadays, chocolate is a favourite choice to offer as a gift. Why? Some are of the opinion that this is no coincidence. Researchers have actually found out that there is a hormone for desire, the desire for love, phenylethylamine, and that it is also present in chocolate.

Cards with flowers on Valentine’s Day
When the attraction of the Lupercalia festival was abolished, young Romans assumed another, much more romantic trait. They gave the woman of their dreams greeting cards as a sign of their love. The oldest card that is known was sent by Charles, the Count of Orleans, when he was being held prisoner in the Tower of London. He sent his wife a card with a love poem written on it. In the 19th century, postal delivery became a faster and more affordable means of communication, so greetings were sent by post. It then became possible to send anonymous cards, even quite permissive ones. In some countries, they even became obscene, resulting in this practice having to be banned.

The "XXX" to send kisses
When you write these “XXX“ at the end of a love letter, you’re possibly not aware that this is a tradition dating from the start of Christianity, when the X represented the cross, the symbol of faith. For a long time, a cross also served as a signature as only a few people were able to write. If you write an X, then by way of oath, you had to kiss the cross. From this kissing of the cross, X became the symbol for kisses..

Array

St-Valentin

Aperçu de nos produits pour la st-valentin: idées cadeaux


Sentiment
Sentiment
Pour Elle avec un vase en verre
Pour Elle avec un vase en verre
Matin d'automne
Matin d'automne
Ravissant
Ravissant
Convivialité
Convivialité




Saint-Valentin
Patron des amoureux, est en fait un prêtre mort martyrisé par les Romains, le 14 février 270. À cette époque Valentin s'attira la colère de l'empereur Claude II qui venait d'abolir le mariage. En effet l'empereur trouvait que les hommes mariés faisaient de piètres soldats parce qu'ils ne voulaient pas abandonner leur famille. Claude ne reculant devant rien abolit le mariage. Valentin encourage alors les jeunes fiancés à venir le trouver en secret pour recevoir de lui la bénédiction du mariage. Il fut arrêté et emprisonné. Pendant qu'il attend son exécution dans sa prison, Valentin se prend d'amitié pour la fille de son geôlier et lui redonne la vue. Juste avant d'être décapité, il lui offre des feuilles en forme de COEUR avec le message suivant : DE TON VALENTIN! (Est-ce pour cela que l'on dit que l'amour est aveugle et qu'il fait perdre la tête?)

Les Lupercales
Avant même Valentin, il existait une fête païenne célébrée à la mi-février: Les Lupercales romaines. Pendant cette fête les adolescents devaient se soumettre à un rite d'initiation. Chaque jeune homme pigeait le nom d'une jeune fille qui lui était assignée pour l'année. En 496, le pape interdit cette fête très peu respectueuse pour les femmes. Il choisit alors Valentin comme patron des amoureux et décrète le 14 février jour de sa fête.

Cupidon
Dans la mythologie romaine, Cupidon représente le dieu de l'amour. Il est personnifié par un jeune enfant peu vêtu, muni d'un arc et d'une flèche. On croit que, lorsqu'une de ses flèches vous touche, vous tombez follement amoureux de la première personne que vous rencontrez.

Couleurs (symbole)
La principale couleur de la fête de la Saint-Valentin est traditionnellement le rouge, mais le rose et le blanc ont aussi une place importante. - Le rouge symbolise le dévouement et la loyauté, mais aussi la passion. - Le blanc la couleur de la pureté par excellence. - Le rose est une couleur tendre. Depuis 1920, c'est également la couleur des filles.

Fleurs (symbole)
La Rose Un autre symbole très fort de la Saint-Valentin est la rose, cette fleur représente l'amour, et plus particulièrement si vous offrez ou recevez une rose rouge cela signifie la passion.

Coeur (symbole)
Le coeur Le cœur est le symbole de l'amour, on donne de façon métaphorique son cœur à la personne que l'on aime pour lui signifier qu'on lui confie sa vie. Ceci provient probablement de l'accélération cardiaque provoquée par l'émoi lorsque l'on pense à l'être aimé, le cœur ''bat la chamade''.

Le chocolat
De nos jours on donne surtout du chocolat. Pourquoi ? Certains prétendent que ce choix n'est pas dû au hasard. En effet, des chercheurs ont découvert qu'il existe une hormone du désir amoureux, la phényléthylamine que l'on retrouve également dans le chocolat.

Les cartes de Saint Valentin fleurs
Quand le tirage au sort des Lupercales fut aboli, les jeunes gens de Rome prirent une autre habitude beaucoup plus romantique. Cette coutume consistait à offrir à la femme de leurs rêves des voeuxaffectueux. La plus ancienne carte que l'on connaisse fut envoyée par Charles, duc d'Orléans alors qu'il était emprisonné à la Tour de Londres. En effet, il envoya à sa femme une carte contenant un poème d'amour. Au 19e siècle le service postal devient un moyen de communication plus rapide et moins dispendieux, on s'en sert donc pour envoyer nos voeux. Il devient alors même possible d'envoyer anonymement des cartes et on en vit apparaître des libertines. Dans certains pays, les choses tournèrent même à l'obscénité, à tel point qu'il fallut les interdire.

Les "XXX" pour signifier des baisers
Lorsqu'on inscrit ces "XXX" à la fin d'une lettre d'amour, on ignore généralement qu'il s'agit là d'une coutume remontant aux débuts du catholicisme où le X représentait la croix, symbole de foi jurée. La croix a eu longtemps aussi valeur de signature car peu de gens savaient écrire. Lorsque l'on signait d'un X on devait embrasser la croix, ce qui avait valeur de serment. C'est donc de cette pratique du baiser de la croix que vient le X symbolisant le baiser.